John Murray

John Murray was head of the publishing firm that was first established in 1768.

The founder, the first John Murray, was born in Edinburgh in 1737. Seven generations of Murrays have run the business. It is now owned by Hodder Headline publishers.

Lord Byron, David Livingstone, Charles Darwin, Jane Austen, David Ricardo, Thomas Malthus, Benjamin Disraeli, William Ewart Gladstone, Herman Melville, Washington Irving and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle were among the distinguished writers published by the London-based firm, with artists such as J M W Turner providing illustrations for Murray books.

Print This Page